My Ikea duvet cover top!

I have been itching to make myself a top, just a simple sleeveless loose fitting one. I didn’t have a pattern, I was just planning on drafting my own from my measurements. I kept putting this project off as I was worried I would be wasting my time and materials. And I still am a bit scared of patterns so cutting one out was not up for debate, the furthest I got on using a pattern last time was just cutting the size I needed. That pattern was swiftly folded back up and put away again. I swear I got the sweats just looking at the paper.

My dream of making my own clothes has been in me since I was a child. My Mum is a wonderful seamstress and most of my childhood memories things like when I would be laying in bed and hearing the whirring noise of her Singer sewing machine. The cotton, the fibres and needles everywhere and my Mum sitting there by the light of the sewing machine, concentrating on whatever she was making. She made a lot clothes for me as I have always been tall and they never made trousers long enough when I was younger so my Mum would make my trousers and with jeans she would alter men’s jeans. She also makes curtains and other furnishings, and clothes for other people. My Mum also made my wedding dress and bridesmaids dresses, she’s pretty awesome.

So I’ve always wanted to be like my Mum and make clothes. I remember her teaching me to make my doll’s clothes. I think putting them together must of sparked something in me because as long as I can remember I’ve always been fascinated with how clothes are put together and the shapes involved.

I have made myself a top before, it was made from jersey cotton and I still wear it. I love wearing it because it fits me properly and knowing that I made it fills me with a sense of accomplishment.

So, I was looking at this old IKEA duvet cover the other week that was in my stash, I’d used it years ago to make some garden cushion covers, and thought it was a great bit of stash to practice making a top with and it wouldn’t be so bad if I mucked it up. With drafting a pattern I have seen a few video’s on YouTube and bought this book by Hilary Campbell a few years ago. With the book I still don’t understand how they work out some of the measurements but it is great for showing how different types of garments are drafted, I will be using it for those things in the future. I bought it on the reviews, which were good.

dsc_0128So here’s some photo’s of my IKEA top;

I am not keen on having my photo taken, I really nailed the awkward pose here. I love my top, it’s comfy and it fits me nicely. It has a pink ribbon as the  binding on the armholes and neckline, I wanted to make an interfacing but I ran out of material. I did ALOT of unpicking on the neckline as it was standing up and not laying flat as I’d sewn it on wrong. No biggie as I lean from these mistakes.

Oh and in the picture of me the mirror reflection is showing what I’ve been watching lately on YouTube Molly from A Homespun House.  Amongst many others. I’ve just found all these Vlogs and am loving them. With Molly I’m catching up from the start and I like having her on while I’m knitting, sewing or cooking. I’ve loved watching Lisa over at Sew Over It. I love Gabby from Gabberdashery. And I’m still trying to catch up on all from Katie from Inside Number 23, love her too. I also love Claire from Beautiful Things, Claire is local to me so one day I hope to pop by her shop. These women have inspired me to get more focused on improving in my love of sewing, knitting and crochet.  There are so many Vlogs out there, I’m sure I will be watching more in the near future.

Hope you’re having a good week. I’m looking forward to a good weekend with my family. Husband is playing in a rugby match tomorrow.

 

Leave a comment